Steve O's Build

Follow progress of your fellow builders. Pictures encouraged!
steveo
Anti-spam question: 4
Are you a spammer: No

Steve O's Build

Post by steveo » 10 Dec 2015, 14:50

OK, read the websites, brought the book ...... time to commit!

So this will probably be a very long thread as I'm a busy professional (aren't we all?) who spends nearly half his time out of the country, but if you never start.....

So first off I have to say major kudos to Kurt for his book. It's worth the price for the insight, knowledge and tips alone. The plans are just a nice plus! Got it Tuesday night, finished it Thursday morning. Wife was wondering if I was going to move.

So bit of background .... been a petrol head for years. Built a Westfield Seven when I was 21, well to be honest half a Westfield Seven, then women and music got in the way. Also raced karts for 10 years, and was fairly sure that the work on the kart was as much fun if not more than the racing.

So I figured it is time to finish what I started all those years ago.

Project Goals:

1) Learn something new
2) Build a moderately performing car on a moderate budget - I don't need Kurt's 400hp fire breathing dragon. Something in the 150-200 range will still blow yer socks off
3) Do it right - it's as much about the journey as it is about the destination

Looking for some advice on engines. I have three in mind at the moment and wondering what people think:

a) The Honda H22 or H23 as Mike Uhlinger used viewtopic.php?f=5&t=104&start=0
Pros: Relatively compact and light
Cons: Getting a bit long in the tooth?

b) The DOHC from a Dodge Neon
Pros: Lots of them around, cheap
Cons: Not a bad little engine, but hardly glamorous

c) VW 2.0i with DSG Gearbox (or even a TDI?????)
Pros: Power, awesome gearbox, easy shifter and clutch pedal installation (None!)
Cons: Relatively expensive