Beefy's Midlana Build

Follow progress of your fellow builders. Pictures encouraged!
b33fy
Anti-spam question: 4
Are you a spammer: No

Beefy's Midlana Build

Postby b33fy » 11 Jan 2014, 16:19

Thought I'd start a build thread here and see how far I get, hopefully to the end eventually. I'm Mike and based in the UK, a mental health nurse by trade and not from a technical background, so apologies if I don't get it right sometimes. Always been a car nut, up till recently a latent petrol head, but decided I was bored with the pub and there were other ways to empty your wallet. I built a V-Storm and recently sold it, won't go into detail but it was more trouble than it was worth. Anyhow I have been following Kurts build for some time and have decide to bite the bullet and build one.

So far I've sourced a few parts, bought a welder to teach myself to weld. and am assembling an engine ready to build the chassis round. The engine is a 2.0 Ford/Mazda Duratec which is also used in caterhams and other cars, its well supported, with upgrades available. I was just going to put throttle bodies and a cam on it to get around 200bhp, but caught a bit of upgradius and its now being fully forged with a supercharger strapped on. I'm mating it to a Mazda 3 MPS 6 speed box with a lsd. Quite a heavy gearbox but gearing is better than the standard 5 speed out of the fiesta ST150 the engine came from.

Other plans are big big brakes, hoping to source some brembos's from a porsche of some description, the V-Storm brakes as supplied from the factory were terrible, so want to avoid that. It will have an extra water pump as per Kurts again to avoid cooling problems experienced with the Storm. I'll probably go for the inboard suspension, might have a play with the back suspension as well and convert to pull or push rod.

A couple of images below of engine bits

I've also been drawing up a few parts to get professionaly cut
Last edited by b33fy on 14 Jan 2014, 14:28, edited 1 time in total.